Is it really that bad?
Posted: 17 May 2009 05:17 AM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2009-04-30

Hi all,

we’re coming over on the 1st June *YAY*

I have an internet based job so I’m not really concerned about getting employment for myself. The thing that worries me is that hubby is self-employed and if that doesn’t work out he’ll have to find employment elsewhere.

He started as self-employed due to the fact that he was made redundant from 3 consecutive jobs in the uk! (Yes the recession is bad here especially up north.)

What are employment opportunities like in and around Valencia? He’s a mechanic by trade but will do anything if it gets REALLY bad.

I just wondered if you guys had any input on the issue as neither hell nor high water will stop me from moving now!

Just incase you wondered his spanish vocabulary stretches to “Twenty Lambert & Butler por favor.” hehe.

Emma & Luke

Posted: 17 May 2009 07:30 AM   [ # 1 ]  
Expatriator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  80
Joined  2009-04-23

good luck

Posted: 17 May 2009 03:49 PM   [ # 2 ]  
Expatriator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  550
Joined  2008-09-12

Emma and Luke

It really is that bad If you look at “La Crisis” Posts it gets worse by the day…

Hotels are closing due too not many tourists…

Spain is the worst off in the whole of europe because the Government Decided to Invest in tourism instead of making Business’s.

In a Nut Shell….

5 Million Unemployed By August / September More at the end of the Year…

Spain is on its Knees Expats are moving back home… Doom and gloom… but if your hubby can do anything for work.. and learn the language “FAST” then he has a good chance…

2011 is when things here “Start” To get better…

Posted: 17 May 2009 04:04 PM   [ # 3 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2855
Joined  2007-10-19