1 2 3 > 
1 of 3
Instituto Hemingway?  How to fund my year in Madrid. . .
Posted: 30 May 2009 07:57 AM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2009-05-29

Hi everyone.  I studied abroad in Madrid several years ago, and now I would like to come back for a while.  I plan to head there in the fall and stay for about 8 months at this point, and then I’ll probably head home again, unless I get too addicted and feel my Spanish is good enough for an engineering job.

Anyway, I don’t have enough capital to really feel comfortable just moving there and seeing what happens.  I’m an American, and I’ve heard that much of the teaching work would have to be under the table and not pre-arranged since I don’t have a degree or any experience in that area. 

I found a company called Instituto Hemingway which has already guaranteed that they can find me a hospitality-type job in a hotel in Madrid for the duration.  (Receptionist, maid, waitress, etc.)  I would go on a student visa and pretty much be cheap labor for the hotel.  In exchange I get all room and board and a minimum of 50 additional euros a week as pocket money, depending on the hotel.  The lodging is EITHER in a room in the hotel or in a nearby apartment, once again depending on the hotel.  In addition, I have to pay Insituto Hemingway a placement fee.  For an 8-month stint, the fee is about $1500.

My first questions are, has anyone heard of Instituto Hemingway?  Is it a reputable company?

Next, have you heard of anyone with a similar arrangement?  (Student visa accompanied by a low-level hospitality job.)

Do you think it sounds like a terrible arrangement?

If they are on the up-and-up, I think it would be a good arrangement for me.  I like the idea of paying for a couple thousand worth of plane tickets and program costs before I go, but then knowing I have a roof, guaranteed job, and pocket money for the duration.     

Thanks for your input. 😊

Posted: 30 May 2009 05:03 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Just Landed
RankRank