Question about the jobs market
Posted: 07 July 2009 04:15 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2009-07-07

Hello all

I am considering moving to Barcelona in two months. I understand this is not the ideal time to move to Barcelona - many students looking for an apartment, and not many jobs - but I think it’s worth the risk as I have a bit of savings so can survive unemployed for at least 12 months.

I am from the EU. My Spanish is basic.

This is my question:

When people say “there are no jobs in Barcelona” are they talking about every sort of job, or just the typical bar tender/waiter/cafe sort of jobs?

I have a masters in computing, and a lot of IT experience, so I will probably try to get an IT job (there appear to be a few IT jobs for English speakers), but I’m willing to do anything - whether this is work in a shop or for Avis or whatever.

So, when people talk about the job market being dead, are they referring to every sort of job? Even Avis?

Thanks for reading.

Steve

Posted: 07 July 2009 04:36 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Expatriator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  550
Joined  2008-09-12

Hi Steve

Welcome to the Forum…

I have a Masters in Computer Science with 15 Years of “Blue Chip Company” Experience…

The above does not mean it gets you a job here in Spain there is Spaniards that has more Masters and Degrees and etc (Spanish Most Educated in the EU)

Spain is Dry at the moment with Jobs… However Gibraltar might be an eye opener if your up for that part… As that?s were most of the Spanish & Expats are at this moment as that?s the place for Jobs…

With your savings will not last long unless you?re speaking a lot of money

Central Barcelona is around ?1500 a month. Plus living.

I posted 2 months ago Job Websites in the forum take a look there?s plenty of sites for searching.

Regards Mac

Posted: 07 July 2009 04:40 PM   [ # 2 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2855
Joined  2007-10-19