Moving to Marbella within a month
Posted: 05 August 2009 12:54 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2009-07-23

Hi guys,

I have just accepted a new position in Marbella and I will be moving out in about 2 - 3 weeks from the UK. I am currently in the process of raising as much money as possible for the move and this has left me with little time to do anything else.
I have already spoken to a guy that was recommended to me for long term property rental but I have no knowledge in terms of things like visas, bank accounts, tax etc.
Any advice would really be appreciated as I am on such a short time frame.

Many thanks

Posted: 05 August 2009 01:22 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Expatriator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  738
Joined  2008-06-23

If your a EU passport holder you don`t need a Visa.

Banks are same as the UK, you go in ask to open a new account, take NIE, passport and proof of address.

When you arrive in Marbella go to the National Police and apply for NIE, you`ll need the form, passport and photo`s. Your next stop would be Seguridad Social office and they give you a form to fill out, you hand it back along with your contract of employment and employers details, your then registered for Health, you wont need your NIE.

I did SS first, i arrived Malaga in the Am and registered that day.

My employers took me to the National Police the day I started, they then took me to the bank, I was able to open an account with my contract of employment and Seguridad Social form, they recieved my NIE later.

Tax was sorted through my company Paye scheme, its around the same as the UK, no huge supprises there.

The monthly wage was the big surprise, it was far less than they stated in writting. And that was an international comapany I`d worked for in the UK for many years.

So I left after a 1yr.

So be careful with any offers, I`ve come accross a few Expats in Malaga who didn`t get what they were informed of before the move.