September 2013
Posted: 29 April 2012 05:27 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2012-04-29

Hello hello 😊

I’m hoping to move to Spain in 2013 to teach English. I’ve wanted to teach abroad for years (and may do a Masters and PHD and go in to lecturing one day) and I’d love to get a second language. I currently work in the public sector with unemployed people, so have a bit of experience leading work shops and developing people and can do public speaking (but so far no ‘real’ teaching experience).

I’ll be over with a nice suit, a CELTA and degree certificates. I’m confident and well spoken, but a little concerned about job prospects… I’ll have a ?3-5k buffer in case it all goes wrong. However, I live very cheaply (currently in London), I’m veggie and hardly ever drink booze.

I just wondered if people could give me a bit of advice…

- What are taxes like?
- How much would healthcare cost and if I get it, would I need to pay extra for prescriptions?
- What city would you recommend to start out? The travelling in Madrid puts me off a bit, but more because of the cost (that said, a month’s on peak travel in London probably costs a lot more than say, Madrid).
Is teaching stressful and are students normally quite well behaved?
- Is it safe for a lone woman and is there a lot of sexism?

I’m planning a trip to either Madrid or Valencia in September to scout it out.

Thanks so much for your help.

Selina
X

Posted: 29 April 2012 11:54 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Expatriator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  147
Joined  2010-06-04
Sel - 29 April 2012 05:27 PM

Hello hello 😊

I’m hoping to move to Spain in 2013 to teach English. I’ve wanted to teach abroad for years (and may do a Masters and PHD and go in to lecturing one day) and I’d love to get a second language. I currently work in the public sector with unemployed people, so have a bit of experience leading work shops and developing people and can do public speaking (but so far no ‘real’ teaching experience).