My introduction/situation.
Posted: 28 June 2012 07:06 AM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2012-06-28

Hey guys, first time posting on this forum after browsing for some while. This is my introduction/situation. I also posted it on Dave’s ESL cafe so if you frequent there as well and see this pardon me for the bother.

A little about me and my situation: I am American, male, 24 years old, looking to return to Spain. Pretty typical right? Well, I studied abroad last year, fall semester, my final semester of college. I met a girl, fell in love, and I am looking to go back to her in September. It’s been pretty stressfull.

My first plan, even before I met her, was to apply to the North American language assistant program. I did apply, but it does not appear I am going to get a spot. So we’ve been looking at other options.

We want to be together this year. She is a student in Granada, and she’s in her final year this year. We’ve discovered that the “pareja de hecho” option is probably our best bet. She’s been to her ayuntamiento and all appears copacetic. She is in kind of a rush because she is empadronada in another city than Granada, and she wants to have the whole process done before she goes back to school in October.

The ayuntamiento told her that all I really need to bring is a “certificado de f? de vida y estado”. I’m not real sure what this is, but I understand that it’s basically just a letter stating I am single and able to marry. Does anyone know how to go about getting this? Can I get it in America? Or do I have to wait to go to Spain to get it.