Malaga or Valencia?
Posted: 02 February 2008 02:45 AM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2008-02-02

I am considering moving with my partner to Spain in one year from now, to give myself time to gather everything together. I just graduated from college, and I need to work at my job for a while to save money first. I do have a couple of questions though:

1. I do know that Spain allows for gay marriages, but are gay people well-accepted? And are adoptions by gay people treated the same as heterosexual people? I would like to make a family, so this is important. I live in Texas USA now, and adopting children will be difficult.

2. Malaga or Valencia? I hope the rents are cheaper than Bacelonia & Madrid, but how do the attitudes differ? I am planning to save 20,000 USD, is that a good amount to last about 10 - 12 months?

3. I am an engineer. My degree is in chemical engineering, but I work now in civil engineering. Does anyone know what the job prospects are like for engineers? I can do computer programming easily, but it’s impossible to get an IT job in the US without a computer science degree. I mention that because I am very flexible on what area of engineering I work in. I’m sure this will be dependent on my Spanish language skills. Admittedly, I am not so good with Spanish now… but I plan on having a tutor to teach me before I move. I won’t move if I don’t know Spanish well enough.

So what do you think? 😊

Posted: 04 February 2008 05:10 AM   [ # 1 ]  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2006-05-27

hi there 1, marriages are legal in europe in fact your status is protected by european law on point 3 a good engineer will find work anywhere in the world as for rents if you can live a few miles in land rents are not to bad.
dave

Posted: 04 February 2008 02:40 PM   [ # 2 ]  
Expatriator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  303
Joined  2006-03-16