Setting up in Spain after graduating from University—
Posted: 22 April 2008 05:17 AM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2008-04-19

I’m currently an American high school student who is entertaining the idea of going to college in Spain (St. Louis University Madrid, to be exact,) and I’m wondering if anyone would recommend applying.

I’d really like to move to Spain, so eventually relocating is my ultimate goal, would it be advisable to attend university there for the sake of “setting up shop” (i.e., networking, making friends, possibly finding a national to marry—heh,—job prospecting, etc. etc) ?

This may seem sort of off the handle but college is really the first big decision that I’ve had to make and I want to do this right. It is pretty influential, after all :D

Thanks in advance!

Posted: 23 April 2008 01:52 AM   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1682
Joined  2005-12-05

Hey Octavio. It sounds like you have a plan - a good one. Roll with it, see what happens. It’s a big decision, but don’t neglect the importance of making mistakes either… not that moving to Spain is a mistake. 😉

Signature 

“Vocation is where your greatest passion and the world’s greatest need overlap.”

Now follow SpainExpat.com on Twitter for updates, advice, news, and forum highlights.

Recommended reading: working visa (non EU), other visas, jobs in Spain, teaching English (non EU), finding apartments, holidays, mobile/cell phones, NIE cards, gestors.

Posted: 23 April 2008 07:17 PM   [ # 2 ]  
Expatriator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  115
Joined  2008-04-10

Hi!  I’m an American who ended up doing high school and university here.  From my own experience, I would recommend you skip the big city and the private university. 

I went to public high school in Sevilla and public University in M?laga and those were some of the best decisions I ever made.