Any Job
Posted: 14 July 2008 12:12 PM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2008-07-14

Hi all I’m coming to spain and was wondering how hard it is to find work. I’m an ex LGV driver looking for anything at all .Bar,cleaning ,labouring.

Posted: 14 July 2008 02:38 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Expatriator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  738
Joined  2008-06-23

Depends which region you go to and if you can speak Spanish, even in the brit areas having fluent spanish is an advantage, as a lot of brits don`t they find it benificial to empoyee a brit who speaks the lingo.

As for jobs, unemployment in Spain is higher than the UK, they don`t pay benifits, so everybody is lookin, as opposed to the Uk where they sit at home.

Its luck at the end of the day, its possible to get work if your in the right place at the right time and you need to get out and about, being very nice and friendly is important as many oppertunites come via word of mouth in the area.

If your a prat you`ll be out of work a long time.

Your personality is crucial, probably more than your qualifications.

Signature 

“I am only a child playing on the beach, while vast oceans of truth lie undiscovered before me.”

Posted: 14 July 2008 05:57 PM   [ # 2 ]  
Tourist
Rank
Joined  2008-07-14

thanks for the advice mate

Posted: 23 July 2008 03:12 PM   [ # 3 ]  
Just Landed
RankRank
Total Posts:  14
Joined  2008-04-16

It’s not all doom and gloom. I see loads of idiots in bars saying I can’t get a job. what are they doing in a bar? Work for yourself Russell. You have to make yourself know to all the locals in the area you are going to reside in.

If you have ever wanted to start a business, it’s easy. I have started 3 and I would never go back to the UK. Time flys by here so don’t rest on your laurels.

Window cleaning, Painting villas, you would be surprised at the odd jobs that are available for someone who is reliable, honest and prepared to work for 60 -90 euros a day. Don’t expect more. If you do get it. Well done.