1 2 > 
1 of 2
Single parent moving to Spain….. help & advice much appreciated.
Posted: 24 September 2008 02:30 AM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2008-09-24

Hi, I am a single parent of 2, one 11 and one 3 year old. I am currently doing a degree in Spanish and English Literature. I have the option of working in Spain as a teachers assistant in a school for a year, but have to make my decision by November. Whilst the job will be arranged through my university at home (Ireland) and it has been stressed to me how this is a once in a lifetime opportunity which in my heart i really dont want to pass up, i have many unanswered questions and worries considering i have two children and am a lone parent. My questions are as follows :

. Will my 11 yr old get into school for free? If not what are the costs?

. Is it recommended that a child of 11 attend a Spanish school with little Spanish, (i.e will she be ok) she is young enough to be kept back as this was an optio anyway.

. How much is childcare for my 3 year old son i.e creche?

. How much would a 3 bed villa be, or even a 2 bed for the year?

. Am i entitled to One Parent Family payment as i am in Ireland?

. What would my average cost of living be per month?

I am under no illusion that this chapter in my life (if i decide not to skip the page but turn it) will be easy or any more financially rewarding, however, living in a country such as Ireland which costs an arm and a leg to keep your children active and entertained is really getting me down, i am not really a materialistic person but more of an ‘all for nature and simple life’ person. Therefore i have weighed up that if i am going to face obstacles and struggle as a single parent for the next decade or so i may aswell do it in the sun where my children will have a fitter and healthier lifestyle.