1 of 2
Suggestions on Location Appreciated
Posted: 09 August 2009 03:42 AM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2009-08-09

Hola!

I am 29 yrs old and considering a move to Spain in about 3 months time.  I studied a summer in Barcelona and fell in love with the culture and lifestyle and now I’m hoping to move there and rent an apartment for a year or two.  I have a job I can keep telecommuting, so work is not a concern, but I do need a reliable high speed internet connection. 

My concerns are:

-Affordable.  I have a job, but don’t make a lot (about $2,000 US a month, after taxes), and I know the USD-Euro conversion is going to kill me!  I’m hoping to find a furnished studio or 1br near or under 500 euro (a dream?).  If it’s cheap enough I will furnish myself.

-Internet service.  Must be decently fast and reliable.  Preferably cable.

-Location.  I’d like to be in or near a city.  Doesn’t need to be trendy or the hottest spot on Earth, just enough to be able to meet lots of people and have things to do, maybe a university or youngish night life.  On the coast would be nice, but not entirely necessary.

-Culture.  I’m pretty liberal and do appreciate art and intellectual stimulation.  Friendly to ex-pats who aren’t obnoxious and are trying to fit in and learn.  Preferably a small international community.

-Safety.  Speaks for itself.

I think going back to BCN is probably a little out of my price range, and that’s fine.  I would like to explore more of the country anyway.  The best prices for a big city I’ve seen on Craigslist Spain seem to be in Valencia, but I’m really open to anywhere in the country.  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks!

Posted: 09 August 2009 12:28 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Expatriator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  738
Joined  2008-06-23

Try this site

I searched for apt max 500 euros in Valencia.

http://www.kyero.com/browse/valencia-region-apartment-long-let-loc55540mnp500mxp500pag1pgr1ppp20slt1srt4