Need help & advice please!
Posted: 21 March 2010 05:48 AM  
Tourist
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2010-03-21

I am a single mother with 2 kids hoping to move to Spain.

We currently live in South Africa, where it is (relatively) easy for me to make a living and provide a decent life for them (this wouldn’t be possible in UK unless you earn big money - or depend on benefits - neither applies to me!)

It is very daunting trying to make this move by myself but have to leave SA.

So I’d really appreciate any help or advice on the following:

Schools: Can anyone recommend affordable good quality English-speaking schools (kids don’t speak Spanish yet!). This is the main concern and everything else - house, work, etc, will fall in around the school.

Work: I am a freelance editor working mainly in magazine publishing (but also academic / marketing / fiction). I have quite a nice client base but obviously will have to start all over again in Spain. Is there much work in English-language publishing over there? What are salaries like, for example for a skilled &  experienced subeditor? Ideally I will be able to work from home…

Location: I will go wherever the school and job are! But ideally of course would like to be able to afford somewhere relatively nice for my kids to live - more difficult in big cities I imagine? And long commutes etc would be a problem; obviously I have to be near the kids.

Please help, I am desperate to leave SA but very nervous about making the move by myself.

Thanks in advance 😊

Posted: 23 March 2010 01:48 AM   [ # 1 ]  
Expatriator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  75
Joined  2008-11-26

Hi Sasha

Welcome to this great forum!

I’ll see if I can help on all of your points: